10 Must-Haves for Bible Journaling

You want to Bible journal, but you don’t know how to start?

Here are some basic tools that I like to keep within arm’s reach when I’m spending time in God’s Word.

1. Mechanical Pencil-Simple but essential, pencils help me to sketch the outline before I go over it with pen. I can also use a layer of graphite behind any artwork in order to transfer it.

2. Pigma Micron Pens-These pens have fine tips that don’t bleed, smear, or fade with time.

https://www.lifeway.com/en/product/pigma-micron-05-set-8-asst-colors-P006119684

3. Colored Pencils-My alternative to watercolors, colored pencils can be blended to have the same affect as watercolors with less mess and prep time. Look for the ones that have more pigment in them so that you don’t have to push hard on the thin pages of your Bible.

https://www.lifeway.com/en/product/coloring-pencils-veritas-set-of-48-P006163838

4. Tombow Dual Brush Pens– With these pens, you can choose which side that you want to use. The small tip is great for filling in the details, while the brush tips result in beautiful lettering with a little practice.

5. Gel Pens– The bright colors leap off the page when you use gel pens. It’s important to remember to let them dry before you close your Bible or else the color will smudge.

https://www.lifeway.com/en/product/gel-pen-set-36pc-assortment-P006163608

6. Stickers-Such an easy way to make a big impact! Be sure to avoid 3D stickers because they will indent your pages; but other than that, explore the 40% off sales at Hobby Lobby to your heart’s content.

7. Double-sided Tape-How on earth did it take me so long to find this miracle of man? Now I can reuse paper scraps from old planners or calendars and stick them right in my Bible.

8. Stencils– If you aren’t confident in your hand lettering yet, finding alphabet stencils is the way to go!

9. Washi Tape– Yes, that is how you really spell it! “Wa” means “Japanese” while “Shi” means “Paper”. And what a wonderful paper it is! You can decorate your Bible with it and it is removable, in case, you make a mistake when placing it.

https://notebooktherapy.com/products/gold-foil-luxury-washi-tape-8-styles-to-choose-from

10. Ruler-A good ol’ ruler makes leveling your hand lettering so much easier. If you get alphabet stickers, you can even line them up on the ruler first to get an idea of how far apart you want them.

For more on Bible journaling, follow me on Instagram at asoutherndrl.

*Fontastic Journaling is now a part of A Southern Drawl

2 thoughts on “10 Must-Haves for Bible Journaling

  1. Do you have any apps, downloads, or anything else that could be used for digital Bible journaling. I love the look of paper Bible journaling, but I cannot draw and I hate to cover up any scripture! I just can’t seem to do it, and I love working on my phone!

    Like

Leave a comment